So long, and thanks…

It’s 04:30, which means I’m wide awake and starving, it being lunch time in China.

My luggage is still piled up in the hall – I got as far as hanging up my 3 now-very-crumpled suits before I gave up.

Anyway, I thought I’d take this chance to say thanks (and well done??) for reading this, even if you only read it occasionally. It’s been great fun to write and will serve t remind me of the great year I’ve had when I’ve forgotten everything (so next week then). I’m going to see if I can get it all printed up into a book just for my own sake as a nice little souvenir, but I don’t know how possible that is.

Some final words – everything I’ve written is obviously my own impression of a very small slice of a very big country, so i make no claims for it all being accurate. Although I’d argue all of it to the death. China can be hard work sometimes but I can honestly say I’ve loved it, and it will not be the last time I love there, or the end of my studies of the language, which is fun in the same way unravelling a very long, tangled piece of string is fun.

And finally – I’ve confirmed it; the sky is definitely lower in England. Must be the curvature of the Earth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So long, and thanks…

  1. Debora says:

    It’s good to have you home, and I look forward to being able to see the floor in the hall again one day soon. Aren’t you always hungry? Xxxx

  2. fiona says:

    Thanks for writing and keeping us informed, entertained and occasionally horrified! 🙂 xxx

  3. Harry says:

    Unravelling string … fun ?

    Crikey

  4. Emmanuelle says:

    Thanks for this blog! It was real fun following your adventures in China. xx

  5. caroline says:

    Welcome back, and I hope you enjoy the world of work as much as you’ve enjoyed China. Tell your mate Stu to look me up at EY and I’ll buy him a coffee!
    Love C

Leave a Reply

